Author Topic: problems with Android to IOS sync - FIXED  (Read 6203 times)

thedave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
problems with Android to IOS sync - FIXED
« on: May 19, 2014, 08:07:28 pm »
Hello,

when i found out that there was a sync module for android, i immediately purchased the sync module on android and on my iphone. (i need my iphone to do invoicing until you come out with the invoicing module for android).

However, I cannot get it to work at all.  both phones are on the same wifi network.  both phones have time master open. regardless of whether i attempt to initiate the sync from android or ios or both (getting desperate), the result is the same.  it just hangs on "Select Device" with a spinny wheel.  nothing shows up in the list.

any ideas?
« Last Edit: May 21, 2014, 05:08:08 pm by thedave »

Adam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1002
Re: problems with Android to IOS sync
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 09:36:25 am »
What Android device do you have and what OS version?  We've read that there are some devices that cannot do "multicast" (discovery), but we are not sure what those devices are.  Sadly, we will have to offer "refunds" to anyone who has hardware that it just won't work with.  Have you tried initiating the sync from both devices?  Perhaps one can discover the other one?

Also, I'm guessing that you had more than one iOS device that you've synced with in the past, so we can rule out your Wi-Fi network, correct?

thedave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: problems with Android to IOS sync
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2014, 10:48:05 am »
It's an original galaxy note running KitKat. 

I will look into multicast (discovery) to see if there's something i can do on my end.

and no, i have never used the sync before.  I just purchased both the android AND the ios versions yesterday.

are there specific multicast settings in the wifi router that you recommend me looking at? FWIW, it's a d-link dir-605L

Adam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1002
Re: problems with Android to IOS sync
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2014, 12:10:39 pm »
On the D-Link DIR-655 they have a setting call "UPNP and Multicast Streaming", under the Advanced Network tab.  We don't see docs for a 605, but you could check to see if it has that and make sure it is set.  Also make sure that they are *both* on the same Wi-Fi, Time Master is *running* and *awake* on both devices.  If all that doesn't work, perhaps you could try it on some other Wi-Fi networks to see if the Wi-Fi is the issue.  There are some routers that just don't work, so if you can, please try some places with other Wi-Fi devices.

I found a website that has a little tool to test Multicast on Android devices.  Try the multicast_test and see if it works?

http://cafbit.com/entry/testing_multicast_support_on_android

thedave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: problems with Android to IOS sync
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2014, 05:06:58 pm »
it looks like changing the settings in my router did the trick.

it didn't work at first, but i noticed that when i opened the sync on the iphone, the multicast_test went crazy with data.

after that, it took killing the iphone app and restarting it for the sync to work.  not sure why.  in my testing, if the iphone app has been open for a while, killing it is sometimes required to make it work, but that is something i can work with.

thanks a ton for helping me get this working!

d.