Author Topic: Invoice layout  (Read 13289 times)

swissskater

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Invoice layout
« on: December 02, 2010, 09:59:20 am »
Hi

In the "Quantity Column" of the invoice layout it shows the time amount only in decimal numbers like 1.25 instead of 1h15m. That doesn't make any sense for the client. How can I change that.

In the "Description Column" I would like to avoid the word "task" and just get the name of the task or project like i.e. "private lesson"!?

Thanks for your help

Adam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 10:45:11 am »
No, the quantity column will always contain the "fractional" amount.  The reason is that that number can be multiplied times the rate to give the total.  You cannot multiply 1:15 x 50.00 to get a total.

We are looking into turning Off or On the Project/Task/Expenditure labels on the invoice too.  This has been requested by several people recently.


swissskater

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2010, 11:01:21 am »
Thank you for the quick answer!

...so how can I show the total of time in a column?

Adam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2010, 11:08:50 am »
Sorry, we do not have a way to display the time in a "time" format.  Only the "fraction".

I will add your request to our "wishlist".

markieb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2011, 07:02:59 pm »
Yes please, I'm getting tired of my clients telling me my invoice is wrong  lol

Adam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2011, 12:31:59 am »
The problem is that if you have a time that is 1:13 (one hour, 13 minutes).  How does your client even know how to determine if the total is correct or not?  They would have to know how to do the math correctly, which they would probably mess up even worse and you would have to explain how to convert time into a fraction so that they could verify the total.  Unless you are rounding to 6, 15 or 30 minute increments, you should be using more than two decimal places for the fraction.  If the client sees the number 1.3333 (1 hour, 20 minutes), they will know that that is not a time.

littlenicle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2011, 12:28:15 pm »
My invoice has a column with a "T" in it.  I think it is attributable to the taxes label.  How do I get rid of the taxes column all together but specifically stop the T from showing up on my invoice.  I send some of my invoices more like time sheets and only want the labels to be "Date, Task, and Total Time"  I can't figure out how to have only those three labels, please advise. 
I also don't understand how to bill something as a flat fee - should i use the expenses area rather than time entries?

Adam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2011, 12:36:47 pm »
Yes, the T column is for Taxable.  Unfortunately when we added the multiple Company support in v4.1, we broke the setting that allows you to turn off the Tax and also the Quantity, Amount columns.  This will be fixed in v4.2 which we hope to be submitting shortly.  Sorry for the inconvenience.   :(

littlenicle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2011, 05:53:15 am »
Thank you for your response.  Are we talking days or weeks til v 4.2?

Adam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
Re: Invoice layout
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2011, 09:40:45 am »
Unfortunately it may be weeks.  We are just wrapping up 4.2 and need to get the language translations from our translators.  Hopefully we can submit it within the next couple of days.  The worst part is submitting it to Apple for "Review".  Usually it is around 7 days, but for whatever reason 4.1 took 14 days.  Let's hope that doesn't happen again.